Hebrew School


Touch me, I’m sick
February 17, 2009, 9:45 pm
Filed under: health care, the arts | Tags: , , , , , ,

Good piece in the Times today about being young and uninsured in New York City:

“At this point, I can’t really justify it monetarily,” said Ian McElroy, a musician who moved to Bushwick, Brooklyn, from Omaha, last year. “It’s not like I think I’m invincible, I’m 29, the world can’t touch me. It’s the very opposite of that. I’ve got to make rent and eat.”

With insurance out of reach, Mr. McElroy has taken to playing doctor, using online resources like WebMD, which offers medical news, descriptions of various diseases and drugs, and discussion groups. As he spoke, Mr. McElroy was icing his feet, which, one day in January, had become cripplingly painful; he was unable to walk.

“I think I have plantar fasciitis,” he said. “I’ve been laid out for two weeks.”

Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a Reply

