Hebrew School


Zion’s shoe, Ringo’s foot
January 30, 2008, 1:54 am
Filed under: israel | Tags: , , , , ,

I was happy to read today that a dreadful historical wrongdoing was corrected yesterday when Israel apologized for the cancellation of a 1965 Beatles show in the holy land. This bit of truth and reconciliation went out to Paul McCartney and Ringo, as well as to the families of John Lennon and George Harrison.

While budgetary concerns were cited as the reason for the fiasco, it’s also clear that the Beatles were a target of the Knesset’s cultural and political agendas.

A big toda raba to the Jar for alerting me to this development.

Since I’m a little short on time at the moment due to my upcoming show, perhaps it’s time for a CONTEST to fill in this spot. [????? Could this be you ?????] So here’s the question: What’s the Beatles lyric or quote that most wittily or sillily sheds light on this situation? Put on your bloggin’ boots, post it in the comments section below, and win a special prize if you’ve got the best quip.

Because right now it’s all Sir Paul–

I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in
And stops my mind from wandering
Where it will go
I’m filling the cracks that ran through the door
And kept my mind from wandering
Where it will go
And it really doesn’t matter if I’m wrong
I’m right
Where I belong I’m right
Where I belong.
See the people standing there who disagree and never win
And wonder why they don’t get in my door.
I’m painting the room in a colourful way
And when my mind is wandering
There I will go.
And it really doesn’t matter if
I’m wrong I’m right
Where I belong I’m right
Where I belong.
Silly people run around they worry me
And never ask me why they don’t get past my door.
I’m taking the time for a number of things
That weren’t important yesterday
And I still go.
I’m fixing a hole where the rain gets in
And stops my mind from wandering
Where it will go.

4 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Well my first choice would be

The Ballad of John and Yoko

but that’s a little too obvious.

More obliquely, I’m going with:

I told you about strawberry fields,
You know the place where nothing is real
Well here’s antoher place you can go
Where everthing flows.
Looking through the bent backed tulips
To see how the other half lives
Looking through a glass onion.

I told you about the walrus and me-man
You know that we’re as close as can be-man.
Well here’s another clue for you all,
The walrus was Paul.
Standing on the cast iron shore-yeah,
Lady Madonna trying to make ends meet-yeah.
Looking through a glass onion.
Oh yeah, oh yeah, oh yeah.
Looking through a glass onion.

I told you about the fool on the hill,
I tell you man he living there still.
Well here’s another place you can be,
Listen to me.

Fixing a hole in the ocean
Trying to make a dove-tail joint-yeah
Looking through a glass onion

Comment by Do Bianchi

[…] did this interesting post on Isreal’s apology to the […]

Pingback by Who says penguins don’t fly? « Do Bianchi

I was really leaning towards “Happiness is a Warm Gun” or “Everybody’s Got Something to Hide Except For Me and My Monkey”. For several reasons, not the least of which is that it involves trafe, I’m going with:

Have you seen the little piggies
Crawling in the dirt
And for all the little piggies
Life is getting worse
Always having dirt to play around in.

Have you seen the bigger piggies
In their starched white shirts
You will find the bigger piggies
Stirring up the dirt
Always have clean shirts to play around in.

In their styes with all their backing
They don’t care what goes on around
In their eyes there’s something lacking
What they need’s a damn good whacking.

Everywhere there’s lots of piggies
Living piggy lives
You can see them out for dinner
With their piggy wives
Clutching forks and knives to eat their bacon.

Comment by Brah

“because several politicians in the Knesset had believed at the time that your performance might corrupt the minds of Israeli youth.”

so I’ll go with:

If the rain comes
They run and hide their heads
They wight as well be dead
If the rain comes.

When the sun shines
They slip into the shade
And sip their lemonade
When the sun shines.

Comment by jason




Leave a Reply

