Hebrew School


So this was Christmas

While it is a de facto tradition for many American Jews to spend Christmas eating Chinese food and going to the movies, my family, for the last twenty years, has had its own tradition.  So I went to Boston.

above: The train from New York to Boston winds its way through Queens and the Bronx as it heads north.

Almost every Christmas since I was eleven, I have gone with my family to St. Paul’s Church in my hometown of Malden, Massachusetts, to work at a feeding program for economically disadvantaged and homeless people. The program is called Project Ezra, and in Malden it’s a partnership between the Synagogue Council of Massachusetts and Bread of Life (the latter of which operates the feeding program at St. Paul’s year-round). It’s a day for Jews from local synagogues to pitch in at a time when church-going volunteers might want to be home with their family.

Exterior of St. Paul’s. It was a “white Christmas” in Boston…

Hundreds of people are served here at Christmas; hundreds of to-go meals are delivered earlier in the day to the homebound and elderly.

Towards the end of our time there, I gravitated toward the piano and had a chance to entertain some of the kids with some Christmas carols and other songs. They, in turn, entertained me with some music stylings of their own.

I was happy to meet our congregation‘s new rabbi, David Kudan and his family at St. Paul’s that day. Formerly at the Harvard Hillel and a graduate of Hampshire College, Rabbi Kudan seems like a really forward-thinking and personable guy. I’m really glad he’s at our temple and I look forward to getting to know him more.

Later that night we all had dinner, and the following morning it was back to Brooklyn for me.

That’s my mom, Harriet. Knaidlach on Christmas?? Why not!

* * *

Bread of Life offers warmth in a cold season

2 Comments so far
Leave a comment

David, sorry I missed you and the family this year, but was ill. I remember when we began this program as I was Temple pres. and asked your Dad, Bart, to chair this program. It’s been quite a ride. Hope to see you this coming year.

Comment by Barbara Weiner

[…] Malden here. No Comments so far Leave a comment RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI […]

Pingback by Norman Greenbaum’s Hebrew School may close « Hebrew School




Leave a Reply

