Hebrew School


Jew-tube roundup, summer ’07
August 13, 2007, 5:35 am
Filed under: jewish, music, youtube

Adon Olam is a standard song in Jewish liturgy. Because of its even number of syllables and phrasing, it is able to be sung in endlessly different melodies, making it particularly susceptible to pop music. (I sang Adon Olam to the tune of “I’d Like to Teach the World to Sing” at my Bar Mitzvah.) Two more examples below:

I know that the above melody is a somehwat of a standard among Israeli pop songsters, though I have no idea who any of these soulful crooners are… Any help? (Lapidot, wasn’t he in the Irgun?)

If only this guy had been my Hebrew school teacher (yes, and yes).

And more:

The Miami Boys Choir, from Manhattan (duh). Cool choreography!

Not Jews, just nerds, bending circuits (who knew that Tommy Chong was the godfather of the movement??):

And finally, the winner of Eurovision ’78:The title, “A-Ba-Ni-Bi,” as I understand it, is Hebrew ubbi dubbi for “ani,” which means “I.”

1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

[…] the lyrics (he also wrote the Eurovision winner “A-Ba-Ni-Bi” which I wrote about here); Matti Caspi did the arrangements. Included are songs like “A Felicidade” from Black […]

Pingback by Israeli Bossa Nova « Hebrew School




Leave a Reply

